Who We Are

Established in 2015, the Italian Youth Association for UNESCO was born as Youth Committee of the Italian National Commission for UNESCO (CNI) with the objective of supporting the activities of the CNI in education, science, culture and communication, by promoting projects, values and priorities, through active participation of young generations and civil society in initiatives and events of national importance.

In 2018 the Association, under the aegis of the CNI, was officially recognized by UNESCO as a Member of the Associations and Clubs for UNESCO.

The Italian Youth Association for UNESCO counts appoximately 300 young people between ages 20-35, including students, researchers, artists, professionals, managers and entrepreneurs.

The Association, currently chaired by Antonio Libonati, has a centralized framework, consisting of a National Board, a Board of Directors, and a set of regional divisions, one for each region of Italy, each of them coordinated by Regional Representatives.

In recognition of the projects quality and the solid organizational structure, the Association has been recognized by UNESCO as one of the best practices of youth participation in the UNESCO programs. This recognition was emphasized by Eric Falt, Assistant Director-General for External Relations and Public Information at UNESCO, who called the Italian Youth Association for UNESCO an innovative good practice to be exported internationally.

Furthermore, in 2018, the Association received the Representative Medal from the President of the Italian Republic, Sergio Mattarella.


Paolo PetrocelliAntonio LibonatiVirginia Caimmi Liliana Sofia Romao Mota

President – Antonio Libonati
Secretary General – Chiara Bocchio
Treasury – Giulia Tomasi
Vice President – Simona Ferrante
Vice President – Sara Simona Cipolla
Honorary President – Paolo Petrocelli

National Coordination – Marina Coricciati, Alessandra Feola
Communication – Andrea FilipponeLucia Pecorario
EDU – Chiara Balestri
Treasury – Stefania Melandri 
Fundraising – 
Areas & Divisions
– North: 
Ginevra Gadioli
– Centre: Marta Lelli
– South: Josè Stancarone


Grafics & Design – Marco Cerverizzo

Supervisory – Antonio Castano


AbruzzoMassimo Stringini
Basilicata – Luigi Zotta
CalabriaMassimiliano Tramontana
Campania – Gaia DaldaniseStefano Fusco
Emilia RomagnaFederico Ferrari
Friuli Venezia GiuliaThomas Trino
LazioAlessandro Luciani
LiguriaAndrea De Caro
LombardiaElisa Lancini
MarcheLaura D’Ascanio
MoliseLiliana Desiata
Piemonte – Francesca Pastorino
Puglia – Werner Romano, Katiuscia Accettatura
Sardegna – Gianfranco Sanna, Federico Porcedda
SiciliaChiara Ficarra, Iolanda Di Natale
Trentino Alto Adige –
Toscana – Paolo Menchetti, Francesca Ruggiero
UmbriaSara Carpinelli
Valle D’Aosta – Jean Marc Louvin
VenetoErika Mazzucato